Who we are!

The LCIE consists of a group of experts who give their time freely to help conserve large carnivores in Europe. The members bring experience from the fields of ecological and human-dimensions research, wildlife management, hands-on conservation, and from international conservation organisations. The members do not represent their institutions when working for the LCIE, thereby ensuring their independence. Where possible we have tried to maintain a wide geographic spread in our group composition.

Current Members of the LCIE specialist group

 

Luigi Boitani


Chairman of the LCIE

University of Rome, Rome, Italy

Contact: luigi.boitani@uniroma1.it

 

 
Henrik Andrén

Grimsö Wildlife Research Station, Sweden

Contact: henrik.andren@slu.se

 

 Alistair Bath Alistair Bath

Memorial University, Newfoundland, Canada

Contact: abath@mun.ca

 

 

Juan Carlos Blanco

Proyecto Lobo, Spain
Contact: jc.blanco2503@gmail.com

 

 

Urs Breitenmoser 

IUCN Cat Specialist Group / KORA, Switzerland
Contact: Urs.Breitenmoser@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

 

  Eladio Fernández-Galiano

Council of Europe, France
Contact: eladio.fernandez-galiano@coe.int


 Djuro Huber

Djuro Huber 

Veterinary Faculty, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Contact: huber@vef.hr

 

 Ovidiu Ionescu

Ovidiu Ionescu 

ICAS - Forest Research and Management Institute, Romania
Contact: o.ionescu@unitbv.ro

 

John Linnell

Norwegian Institute for Nature Research, Trondheim, Norway
Contact: john.linnell@nina.no

 

 

Eric Marboutin 

ONCFS - Office National de la Chasse et de la Faune Sauvage, France
Contact: eric.marboutin@oncfs.gouv.fr

 

 

Yorgos Mertzanis

Callisto - Wildlife and Nature Conservation Society, Greece
Contact: mertzanis@callisto.gr

 

 

Janis Ozolins

State Forest Service, Riga, Latvia
Contact: janis.ozolins@vmd.gov.lv

 

  Ilka Reinhardt

Lupus Consulting, Germany

Contact: ilka.reinhardt@wolves-germany.de


 

Valeria Salvatori 

Institute of Applied Ecology, Rome, Italy
Contact: valeria.salvatori@gmail.com

 

Petra Kaczensky

Research Institute of Wildlife Ecology, Vienna, Austria
Contact: petra.kaczensky@fiwi.at

 

  Aleksander Trajce

PPNEA, Tirana, Albania

Contact: alextrajce@gmail.com

 

 

Milan Paunovic

Natural History Museum, Belgrade, Serbia
Contact: milannhmbeo@yahoo.com

 

Peep Mannil 

Centre for Forest Protection and Silviculture, Tartu, Estonia
Contact: peep.mannil@gmail.com

 

 

Ilpo Kojola

Finnish Game and Fisheries Research Institute, Finland
Contact: ilpo.kojola@rktl.fi

 

Sabina Nowak 

Association for Nature "Wolf", Poland
Contact: sabina.nowak@polishwolf.org.pl

 

Diana Zlatanova 

Sofia University, Bulgaria
Contact: zlite2@mail.bg

 

Manfred Wölfl 

Bavarian Ministry of the Environment, Germany

 

Guillaume Chapron 

Grimsö Wildlife Research Station, Sweden
Contact: gchapron@carnivoreconservation.org

 

 

Jon Swenson

University of Life Sciences, Ås, Norway
Contact: jon.swenson@umb.no

  Ulrich Wotschikowsky

Consultant, Germany

Contact: Wotschikowsky@t-online.de

 

  Manuela von Arx

KORA, Switzerland

Contact: m.vonarx@kora.ch


  Vaidas Balys
          
Association for Nature Conservation "Baltijos vilkas", Lithuania

Contact: vbalys@gmail.com


 

Robin Rigg

Slovak Wildlife Society
Contact: info@slovakwildlife.org

  Miroslav Kutal

Friends of the Earth, Czech Republic

Contact: miroslav.kutal@hnutiduha.cz

 

 

Marina Shkvyria 

Schmalhauzen Institute of Zoology NAS of Ukraine
Contact: shkvyrya@gmail.com

 

 Klemen Jerina Klemen Jerina

Department of Forestry and Renewable Forest Resources, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Contact: klemen.jerina@gmail.com


  Georg Rauer

Research Institute of Wildlife Ecology, Vienna, Austria

Contact: georg.rauer@fiwi.at

 

  Francisco Alvares

CBIO Research Center in Biodiversity and Genetic Resources, Oporto University, Portugal
Contact: falvares@cibio.up.pt

  Francesca Marucco

Centro Conservazione e Gestione Grandi Carnivori c/o Parco Alpi Marittime, Italy

Contact: francesca.marucco@centrograndicarnivori.it


 

Dime Melovski

Macedonian Ecological Society, Macedonia
Contact: melovskidime@yahoo.com

 

 

Arie Trouwborst

Department of European and International Public Law, Tilburg University, the Netherlands
Contact: A.Trouwborst@uvt.nl

 

 

Anja Molinari

KORA, Switzerland
Contact: A.Molinari@kora.ch

 

 

Silviu Chiriac

Environmental Protection Agency Vrancea County, Romania
Contact: silviu_chiriac@yahoo.com

 

 

Aleksandra Majic

Biotechnical Faculty, University of Ljubljana

Contact: almajic@gmail.com